Butler County, Kentucky

The county seat of Butler County is Morgantown. Formed in 1810, Butler County was created from portions of Logan and Ohio counties.


Butler County Courthouse
110 N Main Street
Morgantown, KY 42261-0448
Phone: 270-526-5676[3]
Butler County Website

Butler County Clerk

110 N Main Street
Morgantown, KY 42261
Phone: (270) 526-5676

Suzanne Brosnan 
P.O. Box 538, 110 N. Main St. 
Morgantown, KY 42261 
(270) 526-3455 – Office 
(270) 526-0692 – Fax 
E-mail: sbrosnan@butlercoky.com
Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Religious Organizations

Hometown Locator lists 32 churches in Butler County.


Butler County Public Library
116 W. Ohio St.
P.O. Box 247
Morgantown, KY 42261

Phone: (270)526-4722
Fax: (270)526-9974

The library has several collections that are of use for genealogical research. In addition to genealogical books and county history, it houses family files for Butler County families. Church histories and cemetery records may be found here. Also, the library has a microfilmed collection of local newspapers from 1885-1940. Butler County historical photographs are on CD, and the library has a collection of oral history audio recordings.


Butler County Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 435
Morgantown, KY 42261

Butler County, Kentucky

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *